SCJ Episcopacy Committee Reaffirms Recommendation of Election of Three Bishops at 2022 Jurisdictional Conference

The South Central Jurisdiction (SCJ) Committee on Episcopacy, in consultation with the College of Bishops, affirmed their recommendation that the Jurisdictional Conference elect three new bishops when it meets November 2-5 in Houston, Texas.
With three elections, the SCJ would have a total of eight bishops available to be assigned to the ten episcopal areas. The Committee on Episcopacy along with the College of Bishops will meet again in Houston before the 2022 Jurisdictional Conference convenes to make a recommendation for episcopal assignment and/or coverage for the ten episcopal areas with terms beginning January 1, 2023.
Five SCJ bishops are retired or have requested retirement. Bishops W. Earl Bledsoe (Northwest Texas-New Mexico) and J. Michael Lowry (Central Texas) retired earlier this year. Bishops Michael McKee (North Texas), Scott J. Jones (Texas) and Gary Mueller (Arkansas) will retire effective January 1, 2023.
The business of the South Central Jurisdictional Conference is scheduled for November 2-4 in Houston. New bishops will be consecrated during a worship service at 10:30 a.m. on Saturday, November 5 at Houston First United Methodist Church-Westchase Campus, 3663 Westcenter Dr., Houston, Texas 77042.