John McKellar Named as 2016 Perkins Distinguished Alumni

Rev. McKellar to be honored at annual awards banquet along with co-recipient, Rev. Linda Roby.
The Perkins School of Theology has selected Dr. John McKellar, co-pastor, White’s Chapel United to receive the 2016 Perkins School of Theology Distinguished Alumni Award. John, who currently serves as co-pastor at White’s Chapel United Methodist Church, is joined in this honor by Rev. Linda Roby, associate minister, Local and Global Missions at First United Methodist Church Dallas.
Each year, the Perkins School of Theology recognizes Perkins graduates who demonstrate long-standing and ongoing effectiveness and integrity in service to the church, continuing support and involvement in the goals of Perkins School of Theology and SMU, distinguished service in the wider community and exemplary character. According to Bishop Mike Lowry, episcopal leader for the Central Texas Conference, the alumni/ae council “could not have made a more excellent selection!”
“John McKellar is truly one of the great pastors of our generation,” Bishop Lowry enthusiastically remarked upon learning of Perkins’ decision to honor Rev. McKellar with the Distinguished Alumni Award. “His leadership at White’s Chapel, in the conference and the church at large combined with the way he exemplifies our Lord Jesus Christ in his mission is a tremendous gift to all.”
Rev. McKellar received his Master of Divinity from Perkins in 1990. After serving churches in Grandview, Haslet and Fort Worth, Texas, he began his appointment at White’s Chapel in 1992. During his tenure, John has helped establish White’s Chapel as one of the cornerstone churches in the connection. In addition to regularly teaching Bible study groups, he also serves on the Central Texas Conference Committee on Finance, the Committee on the Episcopacy and is one of the conference’s delegates to the 2016 General Conference and South Central Jurisdictional Conference. John received his Doctor of Ministry degree in Applied Ministries at The Graduate Theological Foundation in 2004.
“John is an incredible model for what it is to live the Christian life in the community,” said Rev. Todd Renner, co-pastor at White’s Chapel UMC. “In every way, he exemplifies the grace that forms the foundation of Wesleyan theology and defends it with humility and passion.”
In making the announcement, Perkins School of Theology Dean William B. Lawrence evoked the “untold number of lives” that had been impacted by John and co-honoree Linda Roby in the DFW area and throughout the world. “Their faithfulness to the ministries to which they have been called and their effectiveness in communicating the transformational love of Jesus Christ has garnered the respect of peers and colleagues alike. We look forward to honoring them both as the 2016 Distinguished Alumni of Perkins School of Theology.”
John is the third member of the Central Texas Conference in the last three years to be honored by Perkins for their service, leadership and unwavering commitment to our mission to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world. In 2014, Rev. Karen Greenwaldt also received the Distinguished Alumni/a Award, and Bliss Dodd was honored with the Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award.
John will receive the 2016 Alumni Award at 5 p.m. Monday, Feb. 1, 2016, during the annual Distinguished Alumni/a Awards banquet. The awards banquet, which coincides with Ministers Week, will be in the Great Hall of Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall, 5901 Bishop Blvd. For more information and to purchase tickets: please click here.