Francis Asbury Award

Nominations for 2017 are closed.

Please watch for the announcement of the 2017 award recipient the week of June 11-17.
The Francis Asbury Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to fostering the church's ministries in higher education at the local, district, or annual conference level of the church. The award, is based on it's namesake's admonition to the people called Methodist to erect a school in the vicinity of every church. “We must,” he said, “. . . give the key of knowledge to your children, and those of the poor in the vicinity of your small towns and villages.”
The Asbury Award recognizes and encourages support of higher education and campus ministries within The United Methodist Church. In 2015, The Central Texas Conference recognized Rev. Joseph Nader as the conference's inaugural recipient of the award. If you know of someone who goes above and beyond in their efforts to support, strengthen and promote the UMC's work in higher education ministries, nominate them for this year's award by sending an email to by May 9.
You may also submit your nominee via snail mail to:
     Central Texas Conference Service Center
     Attn: Susan Craig
     3200 E. Rosedale St.
     Fort Worth, TX 76105
To be considered for the award, each nominee must be:
  1. A United Methodist;
  2. Active in supporting, strengthening, and promoting the church's work in higher education ministries (schools, colleges, campus ministries, scholarships, Black College Fund, Africa University) at the annual conference, district, or local church level;
  3. Offering outstanding leadership, above and beyond basic responsibilities, to help bring heightened awareness to the significance of the church's higher education ministries;
  4. Involved in efforts in agreement with the concerns of the annual conference board of higher education and campus ministry and the Division of Higher Education of the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry.
The recipient of the Asbury Award is selected by the Annual Conference Board of Higher Education of Ministry (or its equivalent).